Team Members

Name Contact
Meech Karen

Karen Meech

Principal Investigator

Research Areas: Comets and their relation to distribution of early solar system volatiles and origin of terrestrial water

Institute for Astronomy
2680 Woodlawn Drive
Honolulu, HI 96822

808-956-6828
808-956-9580
meech@ifa.hawaii.edu
Website

Name Contact
Berdyugina Svetlana

Svetlana Berdyugina

Research Areas: Exoplanet atmospheres

Kiepenheuer Institut fuer Sonnenphysik
Schoeneckstrasse 6
79104 Freiburg
Germany

sveta@kis.uni-freiburg.de
Website

Bergin Edwin

Edwin Bergin

Research Areas: Molecular astronomy and our origins

Department of Astronomy
University of Michigan

734-615-8720
ebergin@umich.edu
Website

Binsted Kimberly

Kimberly Binsted

Research Areas: Artificial Intelligence, human-computer interaction, database visualization

University of Hawaii
Information and Computer Sciences
1680 East-West Road, POST 303D
Honolulu, HI 96822

808-956-6107
808-956-9225
binsted@hawaii.edu
Website

Freeland Stephen

Stephen Freeland

Research Areas: Origin and Evolution of biochemistry

University of Maryland, Baltimore County
1000 Hilltop Circle
Baltimore, MD 21250

freeland@umbc.edu
Website

Gazan Rich

Rich Gazan

Research Areas: Information integration and visualization

University of Hawaii
Information and Computer Sciences
2550 McCarthy Mall, Hamilton Library 2J
Honolulu, HI 96822

808-956-5838
808-956-3548
gazan@hawaii.edu
Website

Haghighipour Nader

Nader Haghighipour

Research Areas: Exoplanets, Formation and dynamics of planetary systems, Habitability

Institute for Astronomy
2680 Woodlawn Drive
Honolulu, HI 96822

808-956-6098
808-956-4532
nader@ifa.hawaii.edu
Website

Howard Andrew

Andrew Howard

Research Areas: Extrasolar planets

Institute for Astronomy
2680 Woodlawn Drive
Honolulu, HI 96822

808-956-8637
howard@ifa.hawaii.edu
Website

Huss Gary

Gary Huss

Research Areas: Ion Microprobe analysis, cosmochemistry

University of Hawaii
Hawaii Institute of Geophysics & Planetology
1680 East-West Road, POST 516A
Honolulu, HI 96822

808-956-9342
808-956-6322
ghuss@higp.hawaii.edu
Website

Ishii Hope

Hope Ishii

Research Areas: Cosmochemistry, extraterrestrial materials, focused ion beam and transmission electron microscope analysis

Hawaii Institute of Geophysics & Planetology
University of Hawaii
1680 East-West Road, POST 509B
Honolulu, HI 96822

(808) 956-7755
ishii3@hawaii.edu

Jones Brant

Brant Jones

Research Areas: Astrochemistry

Department of Chemistry
University of Hawaii
Bilger 301
Honolulu, HI 96822

brantmj@hawaii.edu
Website

Kadooka Mary Ann

Mary Ann Kadooka

Research Areas: Education & Public Outreach

Institute for Astronomy, C-101
2680 Woodlawn Drive

808-956-7954
kadooka@IfA.Hawaii.Edu

Kaiser Ralf

Ralf Kaiser

Research Areas: Reaction dynamics, astrochemistry

Department of Chemistry
University of Hawaii
Bilger 301A
Honolulu, HI 96822

808-956-5731
808-956-5908
ralfk@hawaii.edu
Website

Krot Alexander

Alexander Krot

Research Areas: Meteoritics, Cosmochemistry

University to Hawaii
Hawaii Institute of Geophysics & Planetology
1680 East-West Road, POST 516B
Honolulu, HI 96822

808-956-3900
808-956-6322
sasha@higp.hawaii.edu
Website

Mottl Michael

Michael Mottl

Research Areas: Geochemical cycles, Geothermal implications of plate tectonics, Interaction of seawater with oceanic crust, Fluids in subduction zones

University of Hawaii
Department of Oceanography, MSB 304
1000 Pope Road
Honolulu, HI 96822

808- 956-7006
808- 956-9225
mmottl@soest.hawaii.edu
Website

Orlando Thomas

Thomas Orlando

Research Areas: Astrochemistry

Georgia Tech
School of Chemistry and Biochemistry

thomas.orlando@chemistry.gatech.edu
Website

Rappe Mike

Mike Rappe

Research Areas: Molecular biology

Hawaii Institue of Marine Biology
University of Hawaii
PO Box 1346
Kaneohe, HI 96744

808-236-7464
808-236-7443
rappe@hawaii.edu
Website

Reipurth Bo

Bo Reipurth

Research Areas: Water in the interstellar medium

Institute for Astronomy at Hilo
640 N. Aohoku Place
Hilo, HI 96720

(808)-932-2314
(808)-933-0737
reipurth@ifa.hawaii.edu
Website

Schorghofer Norbert

Norbert Schorghofer

Research Areas: Planetary surfaces

Institute for Astronomy, C211
2680 Woodlawn Drive
Honolulu, HI 96822

808-956-0982
norb1@ifa.hawaii.edu
Website

Taylor Jeff

Jeff Taylor

Research Areas: Extraterrestrial materials, Planetary volcanology, Igneous processes, Exploration and utilization of space resources

University of Hawaii
Hawaii Institute of Geophysics & Planetology
1680 East-West Road, POST 524C
Honolulu, HI 96822

808-956-3899
808-956-6322
gjtaylor@higp.hawaii.edu
Website

Williams Jonathan

Jonathan Williams

Research Areas: ISM, submm interferometry, IR observations

Institute for Astronomy
2680 Woodlawn Drive
Honolulu, HI 96822

808-956-8355
808-988-4604
jpw@ifa.hawaii.edu
Website